Why Swimming will be the Best Thing you’ll ever Do

Erika Chaudhary
4 min readMay 9, 2020

The benefits of swimming and why you should do it

I love swimming. Do you?

I am not a professional swimmer. I have a phobia of putting my face in the water too. However, that doesn’t stop me from swimming and loving it.

I grew up near the lake/river. I used to swim there every day in the summer. I used to walk/run to the lake which is about 5min and jump in for a swim. I used to feel like the world was mine. I felt powerful and in control.

Water is magical to me.

It has been proven water has calming effects on the mind and body. The water is powerful for the mind and body. I always loved being in the water and by the water. I never knew why. Maybe I am a fish…?

Since ancient times, humans have assigned healing and transformational properties to water. In early Rome, baths were an important part of cultural life, a place where citizens went to find relaxation and to connect with others in a calming setting. In ayurveda, the ancient Indian medicinal wisdom, and traditional Chinese medicine, the water element is crucial to balancing the body and creating physical harmony. Rivers have long been seen as sacred places, and in a number of different spiritual contexts, water has symbolised rebirth, spiritual cleansing and…

--

--

Erika Chaudhary

I am a writer who learned to code! I write about personal experiences within a humanist and global context. Find me on Twitter & Instagram @erikachaudhary