The Beauty and the Beast — Toledo, Spain

Erika Chaudhary
4 min readDec 17, 2019

The walk through Islamic Toledo

Toledo town photo by me

Toledo is one hour away from Madrid going towards south of Spain. Toledo is fascinating town indeed! It’s as close to Islamic Spanish history as you’ll get being near Madrid. My husband and I decided to go there for a day but ended up staying a night in this beautiful historic town.

Toledo is very close to Madrid, hence, the tourism here is pretty high. However, the tourist don’t get in your face that much. It’s not a Piccadilly Circus if you’ve ever been to London. The streets are sweet full of surprises as some buildings look spectacular. For those who don’t know Spain was Muslim for 800 years.

A building on a street…Islamic past of Spain….photo by me

The buildings with soul are breathtaking! I can feel the magic of it. It has stand the test of time and it’s still looks spectacular. One of those magical buildings is Mosque of Cristo de la Luz in the old town. The streets are so deceiving because it’s wiggly I turn a corner and have no idea which way to go. However, when we did find the mosque it was beautiful.

It looked like a piece of art on a street.

--

--

Erika Chaudhary

I am a writer who learned to code! I write about personal experiences within a humanist and global context. Find me on Twitter & Instagram @erikachaudhary