How to Develop a Thick Skin and Enjoy Life for you

Erika Chaudhary
5 min readMay 27, 2020

A little bit of Stoicism in your life is needed…?

Photo by Icons8 Team on Unsplash

I don’t believe there are mean people in the world. I believe deep down in their hearts people are kind.

Life happens and people can either become bitter or good, or learn something from the experience. Have you heard of:

‘If life gives you lemons make lemonade’.

I had the best and worst childhood. The best because I grew up by the lake. The worst my father was an alcoholic. Unfortunately, he passed away young, may he rest in peace. Because of my childhood I could have turned into a destructive person.

Instead, I chose to learn. I decided to be the best version I can be despite my circumstances. If I could so can everyone.

Just because something bad happens in your life doesn’t mean you have to become a bad person. It’s what you do with it. For example, if I decided to base my life on my father’s choices, I’d probably be an alcoholic. However, it doesn’t have to be that way.

I am responsible for my choices. I am responsible for my life. The choices I make, changes the direction of the life I lead. Therefore, no matter the circumstances or your past you can invent yourself into anything you like. Mel Robins said:

--

--

Erika Chaudhary

I am a writer who learned to code! I write about personal experiences within a humanist and global context. Find me on Twitter & Instagram @erikachaudhary