5 Side Affects of Kindness you Need to Know

Erika Chaudhary
3 min readApr 3, 2020
Photo by Gary Bendig on Unsplash

I’ve always believed in kindness. What I write next is not based on any research. I believe these are the effects of kindness. I always preferred to be kind. I believe in being inclusive which kindness does that to people by default. By helping someone to cross a street you are already including people. You are not standing or walking alone.

I used to say kindness always pays. Pays in a way no one would expect. I have recently discovered that there are not one, not two but five side affects of kindness.

Kindness makes you happier

When you are kind to someone that someone is happier because it makes them feel good. If you helped someone cross a street or if you helped someone carry their shopping bags for them or even if you smiled at a complete stranger and they smiled back at you. That’s kindness! That’s being thoughtful, kind and helpful.

Sometimes even a wave of hello to someone would make somebody’s day. By simply doing the smallest act of kind you are happier. You feel good you helped someone. You were of use to someone who needed you.

Kindness is good for your heart

Even the smallest bit of kindness is good for your heart. When you are helping someone it’s never about you it’s always about the person…

--

--

Erika Chaudhary

I am a writer who learned to code! I write about personal experiences within a humanist and global context. Find me on Twitter & Instagram @erikachaudhary